Monday, February 28, 2011

Hunt for the Great Savanah Python!

A few days ago one fisherman arrived at our door asking for the white man and that he wanted to talk with me, so I came out and asked what he wanted and he said that he had laid down his fishing net in the lagoon about 2 weeks ago. Then when he returned, he found a large python entangled in his net. He became very scared and paddled his way back to home. A few days later he returned and decided to cut away as much net he could to salvage the net to make another. Then he heard about the white man who handles snakes and decided to get me. So I went in my car with the old fisherman and drove about 30min in the bush until I came close to the path to the harbor. It was another 30 min on foot through the woods. Came across a fallen tree.

Then proceeded on foot. Then he took us to his boat. There were other boats there but his looked in ok shape, Of course it is full of water so the old man dished it out.
 Then I took 6 men with me for paddling. The ride went well but was very hot. Being on the water was such a calm and peaceful experience.

  We followed what we call a canal that the canoes and boats have carved out as they have been passing for hundreds of years. From long water grass to lily pads. It was all there.

We finally made it after an hour of crossing the lagoon. We were about a few kilometers from the Congo, and entered a wall of papyrus reeds on both sides. The canal became narrower by the min. until the fisherman showed us were the net was. This is what we found.


Nothing more than a ripped up net from the monster. We did get one fish though, He took it how and ate it. By examining the net thoroughly, The python had a very difficult time weaving himself out of it for 2 weeks. With great disappointment I started back. Sometimes you win others you dont.


The water by this time was calm and was flat as glass. Easy to paddle so it took less time to return to our car. But even with the let down, I did enjoy the hunt. I got out of the house. HA!

22 comments:

  1. I think I'd be happy if I didn't find a python, even if it DID get me out of the house!! Whew,,,,

    ReplyDelete
  2. Where do you live? Livingstone is not near the Congo! A shame about gillnets always catching pythons, they often drown.

    ReplyDelete
  3. 0810
    michael kors uk
    hollister,hollister canada,abercrombie and fitch,abercrombie,abercrombie fitch,abercrombie kids,a&f
    aaron rodgers jersey,clay matthews jersey,cheap reggie white jersey,matt flynn jersey,jamari lattimore jersey,randall cobb jersey
    nba jerseys wholesale, http://www.nbajerseys.us.com
    mlb jerseys
    chicago bears jerseys
    chanel outlet
    michael wilhoite jersey,y.a. tittle 49ers jersey,justin smith jersey,nike 49ers jersey
    chiefs jersey
    soccer jerseys,cheap soccer jerseys,cheap soccer jerseys for sale,soccer jersey,usa soccer jersey,football jerseys
    boston celtics jersey
    true religion jeans, http://www.truereligionjeanscanada.com
    evening dresses
    air jordan shoes, http://www.jordan-shoes.us.com
    ysl handbags
    mulberry,mulberry handbags,mulberry outlet,mulberry bags,mulberry uk
    vans sneakers
    christian louboutin shoes
    chanel handbags
    michael kors factory outlet, http://www.michaelkorsfactoryoutletonline.com
    michael kors outlet, http://www.michaelkorsoutletcanada.in.net
    new england patriots jerseys
    cheap evening dresses
    hermes outlet online
    cleveland cavaliers jersey
    air jordan shoes
    larry fitzgerald jerseys,kevin kolb jerseys,patrick peterson jersey,andre ellington jersey,larry fitzgerald jersey,calais campbell jersey,deone bucannon jersey,andre ellington elite jersey,darnell dockett jersey,michael floyd jersey,sam acho jersey
    mulberry uk
    burberry outlet online
    ray ban uk,ray ban wayfarer,ray ban sunglasses,ray ban,rayban,ray bans,raybans,ray ban glasses
    jordan 13
    the north face outlet

    ReplyDelete
  4. Phong cách trang trí do go phong khach Vintage được biết đến như một trào lưu hoài cổ, trái ngược với mẫu thiết kế hiện đại trong theo nhiều cách khác nhau. Vâng, nếu bạn thích một cái gì đó như ghe sofa go, ý tưởng này có thể được thực sự thích hợp cho bạn. Một tin tốt cho bạn nữa là những thứ cổ điển cho do go noi that luôn sẵn sàng bất kì khi nào bạn muốn. Hơn nữa, nó cũng giống như những phong cách cổ điển khác, vintage kết hợp với sat my thuat,gia cong inox, gia cong sat cũng đã được phổ biến gần đây do đó, nó xứng đáng được thử trong trang trí noi that phong ngu, noi that phong an, do go van phong

    ReplyDelete
  5. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.tomoutlet.us.com

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete